Greetings from Mattmarpro

Hello world this is my first post. I am the President of Mattmar Productions, a video/film/multimedia production company based just outside Washington, DC. Mattmar (named after my children Matthew and Marissa) is the embodiment of the vision I had after I left NBC following a blessed 23 year career. I left in March of 2007 with a year of severance, 11 Emmys and a huge slice of humble pie. When I first showed my business card to my son, he replied “Dad, what are you, President of yourself!” (And I named the company after him!)  Our company has certainly grown over the past 2 years, and the time has come to offer more of what I can based on my experience. I continue to have the privilege of traveling worldwide to conduct  interviews for television and other media.  So, many of you bloggers and podcasters may appreciate a few simple tips on conducting interviews:

  • LISTEN! So many interviewers make the mistake of being consumed with their own questions. Listen to your answers, engage, and follow up.
  • SEEK FIRST TO UNDERSTAND, RATHER THAN BE UNDERSTOOD. This is actually Habit #5 of Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Don’t make the mistake of only wanting your subject to know where you’re coming from. Try to understand what it’s like to walk in their shoes
  • THE FIVE P’S: PROPER PREPARATION PREVENTS POOR PERFORMANCE –Larry King has succeeded by purposely avoiding research and relying on conversation to get his subjects to open up to him. It works for him. But this tactic won’t work for everyone. By doing your research  you can choose nuggets of information to strike a nerve and engage your subject.

Thanks for paying attention to Mattmarpro – and if you want to the secret of youth, just step out of your comfort zone at least once every day.

4 Comments

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. You are 100% right!!! I wish there were more mentors like you in the world

    • Thanks Karen, I’m now committed to updating this blog on a regular basis.

  3. This is truly exciting, almost exciting enough to make me wish I were back in the game. LOL As for 3D, content precedes price and right now sports and an occassional movie is not enough, not even for my 12 year old grandson.
    But seriously, I wish you the best of luck. Looks like a winner.
    Lydia Lively


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

